Horse Racing Latest Sports News Sport

Rachael Blackmore vs Paul Townend: What Happened On Day Three of the 2022 Cheltenham Festival?

With the third day of action set to commence in the 2023 edition of the Cheltenham Festival, what better time to cast our minds back to 12 months ago and remind ourselves of what happened on this exact day in the 2022 iteration of the carnival that is Cheltenham.

Coming into the Thursday, star trainer Willie Mullins was looking at improving on his four wins from the opening two days of the Festival, and held high hopes for Galopin Des Champs in the first race of the day.

However, Mullins, who is considered by many to be the best of the best in the racing trainer field, was left in despair when Galopin Des Champs tumbled at the final fence in Thursday’s opener to hand victory to Rachael Blackmore and Bob Olinger. 50-1 long-shot Busselton and El Barra rounded out the podium in the opening race.

The second race saw pre-race favourite Alaphilippe pipped to first place by a just neck, with jockey Tom O’Brien riding Third Wind to glory. Nico De Boinville was aboard Mill Green, who finished third.

The aforementioned Mullins was finally rewarded in the Ryanair Chase, when Paul Townend stormed to victory on Allaho to give the trainer his fifth victory of the 2022 Festival. Janidl and Eldorado Allen rounded out the top three.

In the Stayers’ Hurdle, it was Flooring Porter who raced to claim the win ahead of Thyme Hill and Paisley Park. The horse, who was ridden by David Mullins in 2022, has re-entered for the 2023 race with Mullins once again the jockey of choice.

Coole Cody rewarded those who backed him at 22/1 in the Plate Handicap Chase at 16:30, edging out favourite Imperial Alcazar and Harry Skelton’s Spiritofthegames.

Love Envoi was victorious in the penultimate race of the day, before Chambard romped to glory in the 17:30 Amateur Jockeys’ Handicap Chase.

2022 Cheltenham Festival Day Three Results

13:30 Golden Miller Novices’ Chase:

1. Bob Olinger (Rachael Blackmore)

2. Busselton (J.J Slevin)

3. El Barra (Paul Townend)

14:10 Final Handicap Hurdle:

1. Third Wind (Tom O’Brien)

2. Alaphilippe (Paddy Brennan)

3. Mill Green (Nico De Boinville)

14:50 Ryanair Chase:

1. Allaho (Paul Townend)

2. Janidil (Mark Walsh)

3. Eldorado Allen (Brendan Powell)

15:30 Stayers’ Hurdle:

1. Flooring Porter (David Mullins)

2. Thyme Hill (Tom O’Brien)

3. Paisley Park (Aidan Coleman)

16:10 Plate Handicap Chase:

1. Coole Cody (Adam Wedge)

2. Imperial Alcazar (Paddy Brennan)

3. Spiritofthegames (Harry Skelton)

16:50 Dawn Run Mares’ Novices’ Hurdle:

1. Love Envoi (Jonathan Burke)

2. Ahorsewithnoname (Nico De Boinville)

3. Grangee (Paul Townend)

17:30 Amateur Jockeys’ Handicap Chase:

1. Chambard (Lucy Turner)

2. Mister Coffey (Sam Waley-Cohan)

3. Didero Vallis (James King)

Make sure to stay tuned to the Park Life Sport live blog for all the latest updates on today’s racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *