Ivan Toney IN, Trent Alexander-Arnold OUT – The Key Ins and Outs of the England Squad

England have announced their squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 qualifiers against Italy and Ukraine.

The Three Lions travel to Italy first the current European Championship holders on Thursday 23rd March, kicking off at 19:45 GMT, before hosting Ukraine at 17:00 BST on Sunday.

Chelsea fullbacks Ben Chilwell are both back amongst the fold after returning from injury, however former Blues defender Fikayo Tomori still isn’t able to get back into the squad despite some very strong showings in Italy for AC Milan.

Ivan Toney returns to the team after not making the squad for the World Cup in Qatar, and despite ongoing investigations into gambling charges. As well as Kyle Walker who is also subject of legal investigation.

Jadon Sancho and Ollie Watkins don’t make it in despite the latter’s fine form of late. Meanwhile Raheem Sterling misses out due to injury.

Manchester United’s Harry Maguire makes the squad but Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold misses out once again.

James Maddison is also in after being selected in the World Cup squad, but not playing a single minute.

There are no surprise inclusions nor any glaring exclusions, however there are no new players in the fold this time around, with Solly March in fine form arguably unfortunate to miss out.

The England squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham)

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *