RUGBY LEAGUE

RUGBY LEAGUE: All Golds Face Longest Trip In Clubs History

The All Golds will begin their 2017 league campaign with a trip to Leeds to take on Hunslet on Sunday March 5.

The stand out fixture comes late on in the regular season with a trip across the Atlantic Ocean – on Saturday 8th July The Golden Fern face the Toronto Wolfpack at the Lamport Stadium.

Lee Greenwood’s team will be racking up the miles with no less than three games in Cumbria, against Workington (Sunday March 26), Whitehaven (Sunday June 11) and Barrow (Sunday July 2).

The first competitive fixture of the new season comes on February 19 with the opening round of the League 1 Cup.

The All Golds will be looking to go one better than in 2016 when they reached the semi-finals, losing out to York.

The 3rd round of the Challenge Cup comes a week later with the League 1 opener against Hunslet taking place the following weekend.

The first League 1 game on home soil comes in week two with a clash against Keighley.

The traditional Good Friday fixture will be played against a team the All Golds have a superb win record against – the South Wales Ironmen.

All Golds head coach Lee Greenwood said he is looking forward to the new season as well as mentioning he expects to bring in ‘a couple more’ new signings before pre-season training begins in early December.

The former England winner said: “It’s a tough start to the season for us that’s for sure, we’ll be underdogs in the first three games.

“We ran Hunslet close last season though so we’ll be going there to win.

“We’ll be looking to make our stadium a place where teams don’t want to come. Our home form last season was very hit and miss so we know we need to improve there.

“I’m working hard on recruitment and there should be two, possibly three new players coming in by the end of the month.”

The 2017 League 1 format will be the same as the previous season. Each team plays each other once before the top eight teams breakaway from the rest to contest the super eights and eventually the promotion deciding fixtures.

The teams who don’t make the top eight will play each other once more with the League 1 Shield contested by the two teams who have the most points after the final round of fixtures.

League 1 fixtures in full: Hunslet (a) Sunday, March 5 Keighley Cougars (h) Sunday, March 12 Workington Town (a) Sunday, March 26 London Skolars (h) Sunday, April 9 South Wales Ironmen (a) Friday, April 14 North Wales Crusaders (h) Sunday, May 14 Coventry Bears (a) Sunday, May 21 Newcastle Thunder (h) Sunday, Jun 4 Whitehaven (a) Sunday, Jun 11 Hemel Stags (a) Sunday, Jun 18 Oxford (h) Sunday, Jun 25 Barrow Raiders (a) Sunday, Jul 2 Toronto Wolfpack (a) Saturday, July 8 Doncaster (h) Sunday, Jul 16 Cup dates: 19th February League 1 Cup Round 1 26th Feb Challenge Cup Round 3 19th March Challenge Cup Round 4 2nd April League 1 Cup Quarter Final 23rd April Challenge Cup Round 5 30th April League 1 Cup Semi Final 27th May League 1 Cup Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *